Bum Bum Bum

It’s been almost a week since a proper update, and it feels like it’s been even longer…as usual, there’s a lot for me to fill you in about…

On Wednesday, we had the first Holiday Show rehearsal in the auditorium where we will eventually be performing…I love that room a whole bunch, and I can’t wait to help put on the show…

Day 86 – November 7th, 2007 Come hear the music play!

My parts of the show are essentially committed to memory (I only have songs, no lines to remember), so I have already moved on to playing different, non-holiday songs while I’m waiting for my part of the rehearsal…things like “Ballad Of A Thin Man” and other blues stomps…almost makes me want to form a band…almost

On Thursday, when I got home, I found that we got our second membership gift from XPN…this time, it was the newest Live at the World Cafe CD, Volume 24…as I have told other people, it has lots of people I like, such as Andrew Bird, Fujiya & Miyagi, Dr. Dog and The Decemberists, and it also has The Hold Steady…something worth noting is that all of the recordings have taken place since I’ve been working at XPN…I just found that kind of interesting…What better way to enjoy a new CD from an NPR program than with a fancy coffee drink?…

Day 87 – November 8th, 2007

...wow

I guess you could call this the follow-up to the Pretentious Pack, though I mean that in all the best ways…

Friday at XPN was a little bit different, since I had an earlier shift on Y-Rock…I was filling in for Jess Cross from 11am-3pm, and decided to have a theme for the show…I asked listeners to send me suggestions for thematic couplets; pairs of songs that have something to do with each other…you can check out the playlist from Friday to see what I played, and you can probably figure out which songs had to do with each other (note that I did not exclusively play couplets…there are many songs that are just on their own)…

Since I hosted the Nooner, Y-Rock’s classic alternative hour, I decided to bring some CD’s from home, as well as take a stroll through XPN’s library in search of some more obscure tracks to let loose on the unsuspecting radio-listening populus…unfortunately, the nature of my work often lends itself to getting completely out of hand, as there are often many things that have to get done within a short amount of time (such as putting CD’s away, updating a playlist report and uploading the weekly Punk show into the system during a 3-song set…and no, none of them were “The Low Spark Of High-Heeled Boys”)…that said, here’s what my general work area looked like around 2:00 pm on Friday…

Day 88 – November 9th, 2007 Don't watch that, watch this!

The fact that If You’re Feeling Sinister is sitting right there is, in retrospect, eerily prophetic to today’s picture, but we’ll get to that soon enough…

Coming home, Dad and I got a ridiculous inside-out pizza after trying to use the online ordering system…we didn’t have the kind of luck that Steve from The Sneeze did, since we didn’t want to have it delivered (apparently the only option), but it was still pizzarific…

I somehow got assigned to work the Dr. Dog show at the TLA while I was at XPN, and so I went to the show with some Y-Rock stuff to hang up and give out (banners and static clings, respectively)…I shared a table with some XPN volunteers, and had quite a good time with them…there were more drunk people than I had ever seen at a show, and many of them got thrown out…some of them signed up for XPN’s eNewsletter, and then got thrown out…a net gain for XPN!…

Day 89 – November 10th, 2007 Take me to your venue

You would not believe how many (presumably sober) people had trouble understanding what it was they were signing up for…being a representative of the station, I held myself back from more smart-assy comments, but did my best to explain that every so often, they’ll get an e-mail from XPN letting them know about what’s going on at the station and so on…as if they didn’t know what a newsletter is…tsk tsk tsk…

Yesterday, I did a whole bunch of nothing…there was a live concert broadcast on XPN that pre-empted the majority of the Folk Show…so not only didn’t I got to XPN, I didn’t go back to school…Mom, Dad and I were picking out what flavors of beverages we wanted to order for our Flavia beverage maker (not to be confused with the similarly-named greeting card and gift site)…we picked out some interesting new things, as well as refills of flavors we particularly enjoyed…

Day 90 – November 11th, 2007 Iron coffee pots and tin coffee pots, they are no use to me

an ingenious invention, if ever I saw one…

Today, I wrote my review of the Band Of Horses album that will be in the Y-Rock eNewsletter, so I will naturally post that when it gets sent out…I also started reading another 33 1/3 book, about Belle & Sebastian‘s If You’re Feeling Sinister…not a track-by-track account like the one I read about The Stone Roses‘ debut, it’s still rather interesting so far…

Day 91 – November 12th, 2007 The stars of track and field are beautiful people

We watched “Grizzly Man” for the Documentary part of Film class…we also have to pick a movie to watch for our final paper…I’m thinking of doing a paper about “The Sting”, since it would give me an excuse to get the two-disc DVD…plus, it’s a great movie!

That was a lot to type, so I’ll give you some time to soak it in…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Curse wild, windy linen
Warm life, so-and-so
I want to white out
I want to come on out

~ by E. on November 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
