Ooh, what kind of pie?

There are some days that you can tell are going to either be great or totally suck pretty early on…last Friday was a day that threw me a few curveballs…I was a little late getting to the train, and I didn’t get a chance to buy a ticket from the ticket office for fear that I would miss the train (which was pulling up as I was walking up to the platform)…”Damn,” I thought, “I’ll have to spend $5.00 since I have to buy my ticket on the train”…however, the conductor never came down to the end of the train that I was sitting in, so I rode all the way to 30th Street Station without a ticket…of course, I bought one at the ticket office there before I went to XPN so I wouldn’t forget to do so on my way home…

When I got to XPN, I had a piece of mail waiting for me…it was a CD that I requested from a group that found me on MySpace, The Panderers

Day 95 – November 16th, 2007

...it makes me wanna wag my tail

…though I haven’t gotten a chance to listen to the CD, if the songs are as good as the ones on their often malfunctioning MySpace player, there should be a lot to enjoy…

My Y-Rock show went very well, and I got The Killers‘ new CD, which I reviewed for the eNewsletter (but lucky you can read it in the previous post on this very blog!)…

Once I got home, Dad and I went on a ridiculous hunt for various things at various stores, but came home with nothing…go figure that neither Target nor Blockbuster had the 2-disc collector’s edition of “The Sting”…harumph!

Saturday served as a day to take care of something that was long overdue: cleaning up my room…using some of the new found space in my closet, I made everything neat and pretty (well, at least neater and prettier than before)…there’s still a lot of stuff that I could stand to get rid of, but for the sake of the Night Before Thanksgiving party, it should be fine…

Day 96 – November 17th, 2007

There's a world where I can go and tell my secrets to

In case you were wondering, the small black rectangle on the upper shelf is my high school diploma, and the Max Headroom folder houses many of my collected concert setlists…I also need to find a place for those posters you see rolled up there…oh bother!…

Sunday was more cleaning up time, with Mom and Dad included…another long overdue task was reorganizing our CDs to incorporate discs we have gotten since our last reorganizing…utilizing the space between the bottom shelves and the floor was a good idea, and it saved a lot of space…for now…

Day 97 – November 18th, 2007

Just play that rock and roll music...

…there are two more shelves, one to the right and one to the left of the frame…it may not be XPN’s library, but at least it’s not absolutely mind-boggling like XPN’s is…

On The Folk Show was the band John Train (their name comes from an old pseudonym used by Phil Ochs during his darker days)…one of their members, Mike Brenner, also happens to be Slo-Mo, of Slo-Mo fame…it was good to see him again, but the other guys in the band thought that I was Jesse Lundy of Point Entertainment…I’ve only met Jesse once or twice (at least once, since I remember talking to him and participating in his discussion group at last year’s NERFA), and this is hardly the first time that someone has said that I look like him…I wonder if anyone mistakes him for Y-Rock’s Eric Schuman ever…

John Train were very good, and I (easily) convinced Dan, another “Folk Show Flunkie” to take all of the CDs that got purged from our collection for various reasons (actually he took all but one, since Gene took an EP for himself)…when Dan asked if I think it’s all stuff he would like, I simply answered, “No,” but that that shouldn’t stop him from listening to each and every one of them and never ever giving any of them back to me…

Today, it was back to school for a few classes…I’m going to rethink my thesis topic on “The Sting”, since it seems that just about everyone is going to examining the ideology of their chosen films…I think I’m going to examine the elaborate, immersive nature of the con that Robert Redford and Paul Newman set up, and how various cinematography techniques help the viewer be convinced along with Robert Shaw that the establishment is a real off-track betting house…something like that…

While I was “learning”, Mom started baking for Wednesday night…of course, when it came time for me to take a picture, she had just finished using my favorite accesory to the stand mixer…

Day 98 – November 19th, 2007

Arrrgh, and I'll send ya down t' Davey Jones' piping bag!

Clearly, the most dastardly of all kitchen utensils…

Tomorrow is my last day of classes before Thanksgiving Break, and I’m going to talk to my Media Tech teacher about possibly giving me more time to work on my group’s website, since I’m doing all of the designing and programming…and I mean all of it…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Straight to hell
Oh Papa-san
Please take me home
Oh Papa-san
Everybody they wanna go home
So Mamma-san says

~ by E. on November 20, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
