Always In Trouble

Almost a week in review, I’ll give you the low-down on what’s been up since this past Tuesday, starting….now!

As the semester winds to a close, some classes are ending sooner than others…for example, my final Media Tech lab was Tuesday…it wasn’t really a class, per se, but a short session to finish up work on the group websites, which were due the day after…to celebrate the close of the semester, our Teacher’s Assistant, Rachel, got Joe Joe’s, apparently the Trader Joe’s equivalent to Oreos…

Day 106 – November 27th, 2007

Get back to where you once belonged

It’s also been getting rather chilly out…you would think that it would be a good time to get some hot chocolate from the Dining Center, wouldn’t you?…so did I…unfortunately, it was a lot more hot than chocolate…even attempts to add more chocolatey goodness with syrup were futile…

Day 107 – November 28th, 2007

Care for a nice mug cocoa?

On Thursday was the last lecture session of Media Tech…that meant that it was time to present the websites that we (I) made…of course, my group (at least myself and two others) presented our site first…as we were going back to our seats and the next group was preparing to present, Professor Mooney mentioned that everyone should listen to me on Y-Rock, and that he saw my Top Artists list from last year’s countdown and agreed with my choices very much…it was a very nice thing for him to say, and I talked to him about music for a little bit after class (and gave him an Eric button, of course)…

In Media In Everyday Life class, we had a shortened lecture after handing in our final papers…after the lecture, we were invited to say for a screening of Dr. Vacker’s experimental documentary, “Space Times Square“…somewhat like “Koyaanisqatsi”, it comprised of every media metaphor we have learned in class set against footage of images from screens in Times Square…after the film, a few students (myself included) went to talk to Dr. Vacker about the film, and about future ventures…he said that, unlike this film, he wants to have each chapter of his next film to have electronic scores by different people (rather than just one person doing the whole thing)…interestingly, I was one of three people who gave him contact info expressing interest in making electronic music for the upcoming film…I said that it was funny how nowadays, instead of everyone being a folk singer/songwriter, everyone’s an experimental electronic musician…oh how times change…

That night, Erin and I went to see “I’m Not There“, another experimental film…loosely based around the life and career of Bob Dylan, it was a fascinating movie in its own right…if it’s playing in your area, I highly recommend seeing it…there are still several things in the film that puzzled me as to their connection to the life of Bob Dylan, but it was still very good…the soundtrack is extremely enjoyable as well (and you can hear several of the songs from it on both XPN and Y-Rock)…it was the first time that I had ever been to The Ritz at The Bourse, so I decided to take a picture…

Day 108 – November 29th, 2007

How does it feel?

Friday was a short day for me at XPN…they were having a mini-fund drive (which really sounds like something out of “1984”), so they needed me to board-op for some of the time…that is to say, whenever

 was not at the board (for a change)…after leaving, I went back to school for the dress and tech rehearsals for the Holiday Show, which took place that night…I think it went very well, and I know I had a lot of fun doing it…to keep you caught up, I sang and played two songs: “‘Zat You, Santa Claus?” (solo with bass) and “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” (guitar with backing choir), and played “Blue Christmas” on guitar while Jim Duffy, the leading man, sang…it was a great time, and I was told by a few people (aside from my parents) that I “rocked”…sweet!…the setup was made to look like an airport, and I think it was even better than the real thing!

Day 109 – November 30th, 2007

That means you, Grimsby!

…and no, I didn’t trip over that cord…and yes, you can see my bass and amp next to those chairs…just like a real airport!

 

Saturday was the final liquidation auction at the store…I wasn’t there, but I got updates throughout the day…so that’s it…

And with that, there is not more
Gone for good the family store

On the other hand, I got a new shirt from Threadless…luckily, there was plenty of room in my bureau drawer…

Day 110 – December 1st, 2007

...it's true!

I’m thinking to take a few pictures while wearing this shirt and make it my new picture on the Y-Rock DJ page

Tonight, we went to an honoring for my grandfather at Beth Sholom…apparently, the Mid-Atlantic Region synagogues all pick someone from their Men’s Clubs to be Man of the Year, and Mr. Larry was picked this year!…I described the reception as being hoity-toity…

Day 111 – December 2nd, 2007

...my people...

Tomorrow night is the Y-Rock year-end music meeting, and shortly after, I’ll be posting my list of my 40 favorite albums of 2007…maybe a short list of my favorite songs, as well, but we’ll see about that…

That should be about enough for you to take in right now…more things a different time
E.

Lyric of the Time:
I’m hot on the heels of love
Waiting for help from above

~ by E. on December 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
