Whaddya say, Milroy?!

Once again, there’s so many things to talk about, so let’s get started, shall we?

I may or may not have mentioned that we had breakfast/dinner at Cracker Barrel last week…while the shop has inexplicably become more of an outlet for the Quacker Factory (note the similarities in their names), they still stock plenty of old-timey goodies…luckily for me, they carry one of my favorite candies, BB Bats…after letting them sit around for a few days, I tore into a few this past Tuesday…

Day 148 – January 8th, 2008 No, Ray, it was you

As Winter Break winds down, I’ve been trying to get as much work as possible done each day I’m at XPN, so that there won’t be so much work that has to get done each and every Friday between now and the summer…to do said work, I’ve been going in a couple more days each week, which lets me see more unusual things than I normally would in a given week…case in point, I’m on my way to the train on Wednesday, and I saw one of Dad’s favorite sights:

Day 149 – January 9th, 2008 wie treu sind deine Blätter

…tragic as it may seem, consider the fact that the tree came from outside, and ends up just the same, albeit a little worse for wear…

Speaking of the holidays, I got around to using my Amazon gift certificates last week, and my shipment of CD’s arrived on Thursday…I pretty much went through my wish list and got a bunch of CD’s that I added many months ago that just weren’t going to be bought unless I bought them…so, I did…

Music is my imaginary friend

In case you were wondering, the CD’s are:
PolyrockPolyrock (XTC-like punk band that got some help from Philip Glass on their two records)
PigbagDr. Heckle And Mr. Jive (funky, jazz-revival new wave band best known for their single, “Papa’s Got A Brand New Pigbag”)
Robyn HitchcockLuxor (recent, pre-Spooked recording with my favorite song of his, “Idonia”)
RenaissanceRenaissance (Before Annie Haslam, when the group was mostly ex-Yardbirds…see Moody Blues syndrome)
Pere UbuThe Modern Dance (debut from the punk guys)
Happy MondaysSquirrel and G-Man Twenty Four Hour Party People Plastic Face Carnt Smile (White Out) (John Cale-produced debut from the dance guys)
Gary NumanTelekon (doesn’t contain “Cars”)

So far, I have listened to four of them, and I’m sure that more will show up in Friday 5’s to come…

As I have mentioned, I’ve been going through the 17 years worth of World Café sessions to put into Y-Rock‘s system…to give you an idea of the sheer volume of stuff, please to enjoy a look at one fourth of the session CD’s:

Day 151 – January 11th, 2008...the artists who create it

…blame the blurriness on my being overwhelmed, and the fact that the light in that particular closet tends to flicker more than lights at a rave…oontz oontz oontz…

I had my last 3-7 shift on Y-Rock later that day, and I will be moving to the Friday 11:00am – 3:00pm (eastern) shift from now on…fans of Jess Cross will find her on Tuesday afternoons, though I’m not sure what time exactly…this change will come in handy this coming Friday, since I’ll have time to jump over to the Electric Factory for the FREEZEtival…while I, personally, am not totally thrilled with the lineup, I love a good show, and representing the station at concerts is always a good time…

This weekend, Mom, Dad and I went to State College, PA for our friends’ wedding…you may remember Scott and Jenn from the Reverend Horton Heat/Legendary Shackshakers concert, or maybe you saw them at our store or at our house the night before Thanksgiving…at any rate, the wedding was delightful, the hotel we stayed at was very nice, and all the other attendees were extremely fun to be around…

Day 152 - January 12th, 2008no, it wasn't a Charm City cake...

At the various parties and after-parties, we got to talk to the other guests (none of whom we had met before)…it’s funny how just about everyone is a total character, and how we all had so many things to talk about considering how little time we spent with each other…truly enjoyable…

State College is a schlep away, so we left fairly early this morning, but not before having breakfast…apparently, the area has a knack for sticky buns, but the ones at our hotel’s breakfast weren’t that great…at least Pudge liked them…

Day 153 – January 13th, 2008sticky?

Tomorrow, I’m on Y-Rock from 9:00am – 12:00noon (eastern), and tomorrow night, Erin and I are seeing Mirah at World Café Live…

Mom just gave me a bowl of ice cream, so I totally have to eat it right now…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Free from it all 
I’m not gonna change till I want to 
And I’m free from the world 
Where I built too many roads

~ by E. on January 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
