Time to make Rock

A concert-packed week?…good thing I could hear for most of them…

Monday, after a Y-Rock shift and a day of Y-Work, Erin and I saw Mirah and Spectratone International at World Café Live…performing music from their new record, Share This Place: Stories And Observations, the show was equal parts concert and total performance art, though not entirely in the same way as The Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players…there was a screen onstage, and during each song, animations of “insects” were played to go along with the music…the “insects” were actually pen caps, staples, twist-ties and other knick-knacks made to look like bugs…it was very enjoyable, and had me listening to the lyrics a lot more closely then when I would listen to the record previously…

Day 154 – January 14th, 2008 You think it's like this...

As I have mentioned, I have had trouble hearing lately…finally, I went to a doctor on Tuesday…after some quick examination (and lengthy waiting), it was determined that it was not, in fact, a head cold, but stuff actually in my ears…

Gross.

So, I had my ears flushed…needless to say, it was a strange experience…thankfully, though, the flushing cleared up my left ear, which had been giving me the most trouble recently…my right ear wasn’t as quick to give up…to remedy this, I was told to use ear drops for a few days and come back to the office’s lab to have the rest flushed out…

Again, gross.

Day 155 – January 15th, 2008 Tommy, can you hear me?

…just be happy that I didn’t take any pictures of what the nurse felt was necessary to show me…namely, things that used to live in my head…blecccch…

Back to XPN on Wednesday, and had a mildly productive day…in preparation for the FREEZEtival, I thought it would be nice to make nametags for all of the Y-Rock staff that was going to be in attendance…little did I know the logic puzzle that would become of the printing process…after a long day, I had 20 nametags that had to be laminated, hole-punch’d, and affixed to lanyards…but that was for another day…

On my way back home, I saw an interesting sight at 30th Street Station…a man had a bicycle with him, and tried to get onto a train with it…during peak hours, bikes are not allowed on trains, so he was told that he would have to wait for another…from where I was sitting, it looked like he took a stack of books that was wedged under the seat, left the bike on the platform, and got on the train…knowing how much I love interesting situations, it should come as no surprise that I decided to take some pictures…I was mistaken, though…he didn’t get on a train, he just went down to the concourse to get something to drink…naturally, when he came back up to the platform, there I was taking pictures of his bike…I quietly turned off my camera and casually walked to another spot on the platform…

Day 156 – January 16th, 2008 I'd give it to you if I could, but I borrowed it

…totally worth the picture…and, oh yeah, the tarp was his, too…

Thursday morning, I went back to the doctor, and, sure enough, they flushed the rest of the, er, “problem” out of my ear…I would like to say that by then, I was used to the sensation of getting my ears flushed, but that’s not something that anyone should ever get used to ever…

That night was XPN’s staff holiday party…it was at a hip little spot in Northern Liberties called Northern Bowl…yes, it is a bowling alley, but it’s more like a night spot that happens to have bowling lanes…it’s the bowling equivalent to a tiki bar…very campy, and totally adorable…I bowled a few games with the Y-Rock people, and Lauren and I (who had traveled all through south Philadelphia to get there) expressed our disdain for our frequently malfunctioning lane…it was still a lot of fun, and I naturally got one of these shots:

Day 157 – January 17th, 2008 Bowling! Bowling! Bowling!

I’m pretty sure the theme of the party was How Many “Big Lebowski” References Can You Make In 3 Hours?…the answer: many…

Yesterday featured me on Y-Rock for a very long time…I was scheduled to do a 5 hour shift anyway, but the guy who is on after me was running a bit late, so I stuck around for another 30 minutes until he got there and settled in…it was intense, but still a lot of fun…I finished making the nametags (incidentally, using the brand new laminating machine was the easiest part of the whole process)…everyone who walked by me while I was trimming the laminated tags commented on how neat they looked…that, in addition to how much the staff liked them that night, made all the work worth it…

Last night was The FREEZEtival, a very special concert that we welcomed to the Electric Factory…the bands that played were Editors, Hot Hot Heat and Louis XIV…while I’m not really a huge fan of any of the groups, I was somewhat looking forward to seeing Hot Hot Heat, who have a bunch of songs that I really like…I got there early with Josh T. Landow (Y-Rock’s Operations Coordinator), and got an all access pass (!!), so that I could help bring stuff in from backstage, and help manage the meet and greet that we organized between the bands and a number of fans who won tickets from us…one of the girls who won tickets from me (and has become a loyal listener) even asked me to sign her poster…it was a very kind request that I was glad to fulfill (naturally)…we got some staff pictures with the guys in Editors and Hot Hot Heat (I’ll post them up on MySpace soon), and began to set up our stuff and decorate the venue…we had two areas set up in the concession area, one where we were broadcasting the show live on XPN, and one where people could sign up for our mailing list, and even sign up to become members of XPN…we weren’t really expecting too many people to give us money, but we actually got about 5 or 6 new members that night, thanks to some wonderful salespitching…

The performances were pretty good…Louis XIV are an odd band…sort of glam, sort of indie, with two violin players and a lot of yelping…Hot Hot Heat were a lot of fun, especially considering that I am more familiar with them than either other group…it also seemed like most of the people there were there to see them…not that there’s anything wrong with that…

Day 158 – January 18th, 2008 Frustration, frustration/I hate this vacation

That’s Steve Bays of Hot Hot Heat…he’s totally got a Jewfro

Between sets, Y-Rock people went onstage to hype up the crowd and let them know that the bands are about to come on…before Editors came on, Josh T. was going to go throw Y-Rock t-shirts into the crowd, but needed a hand with it…since I was the only other DJ with a total all access pass, I was the one to go with…so there I was, on the Electric Factory stage, throwing t-shirts into a rabid crowd…as we left, I could have sworn I heard someone shout “You suck, Eric!”…I figured it was probably someone I knew, and I was anticipating whoever it was to find me later on…turns out it was my computer teacher from last year, Chris, who was mildly upset that I didn’t throw him a shirt…I tried to appease him by giving him several posters, and we had a good laugh…Editors‘ set was dour, loud, and dour…ohhhh…

We handed out flyers and posters in the freezing cold after the show, and called it a night…here’s to the upcoming summer music festival, whatever it’s called this year…

Today, Mom, Dad and I went to an outlet shopping center in New Jersey…it was less than impressive, though one store had an intriguing window display…

Day 159 – January 19th, 2008 Pant for sale...

Unfortunately, I don’t think these gentlemen made much of a compelling sale once you got inside…

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to listen to Hot Chip‘s new album, um, “over and over”…booooo…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Teenage Mary said to Uncle Dave
I sold my soul, must be saved
Gonna take a walk down to Union Square
You never know who you’re gonna find there

~ by E. on January 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
