It’s not for lack of bread

For one reason or another, there is a small potted plant on the actual desk at the Help Desk…I started to draw attention to it on Wednesday, since it was kind of a slow day…odds are that, in the next few weeks, I will likely put a post-it note on it with some silly saying…until then, it is known only as the Sad Parsley…

Day 204 – March 5th, 2008

Oh what should I do I'm just a little baby

…oh, it’s so sad…

Thursday morning I got back my Jewish Studies midterm that I had expressed some doubt over whether or not I had done well on it…turns out, I did well on it…a 93, as a matter of fact…it came as a big shock to me, though I still don’t really like the class as much as I thought I would…hopefully that grade, along with the good grades I’ve gotten on the midterm papers in other classes (and the exams I haven’t gotten back yet), will make this a good semester…then again, it doesn’t take all that much to make me very happy…case in point, when I got home for Spring Break on Thursday, I got choco-grahams!!…

Heat treatment while the flame is burning

…nom nom nom…

I guess this has sorta been a good concert-filled week (although there are a few weeks in the not too distant future that are positively concert-packed)…Of course Poltz was excellent on Tuesday, and Friday was Lightspeed Champion…firstly, let me tell you about the rest of the day leading up to the evening’s events…My Y-Rock shift went swimmingly…This coming Friday, I’m going to be broadcasting The Weakerthans‘ set live from South By Southwest, in addition to playing loads of fun things…after that was all done, I did some more Y-Work and acquired a Jim White fixation, courtesy of World Cafe producer Tracey Tannenbaum…after “work” was done,

and I walked to Cereality (in the rain) and to the Penn bookstore (also in the rain), where we got $7 bowls of cereal and scoffed at CD’s in the music section, respectively (actually, I picked up a copy of Belle & Sebastian‘s 2-disc EP collection, Push Barman To Open Old Wounds…what a bargain!)…when we got back to World Cafe Live, we met up with

and sat down to enjoy the show…or so we thought…

About four songs into the opener’s set, the fire alarms start going off…no one was quite sure what to do, since none of the staff were telling us to leave…after a few minutes we were told that we had to leave, and we all stood outside (again, in the rain) for about 15 minutes until the fire truck came…we got the all-clear and went back inside, and the opener finished his set and then Lightspeed Champion began his…

Day 206 – March 7th, 2008

I feel better now

He was really, really good…his album Falling Off The Lavender Bridge is definitely on my list of favorites of the year so far…

Saturday, I went to the world-famous Philadelphia Flower Show…I remember going just about every year when I was little and it was at the old Civic Center…since it’s been at the new Convention Center, I was only there for the first time this past year…I remember it being a lot of fun last year, due in part to my not having been to one in such a long time, and the presence of an XPN lounge with live music from Matt Duke (!!!)…this year, though, there was no XPN lounge…the theme this year was New Orleans Jazz…I didn’t find the Show to be quite as enjoyable, but I did enjoy taking picture like a bona-fide photographer (though I don’t really have one of those fancy-pants 2 billion megapixel cameras)…there were some displays that looked like they came right out of New Orleans Square in Disneyland, and there were some that looked like they had the Irish theming from last year covered with green, gold and purple…

Day 207 – March 8th, 2008

Flowers for ladies of fashion to wear

That one one of the prettiest pictures I took…there are a bunch more, and I might just put them up somewhere in the not-too-distant future…

Sunday was a lazy sort of day…”The Music Man” was on in the afternoon, but I had to leave with about an hour left to go to The Folk Show…Gene filled me in on an idea of his, which was to have me program an hour’s worth of the show to mix things up a little bit…he said that it’s a good way to get the next generation of music programmers onto the scene…Sunday night, in particular, was a slow evening, since the first group, The Sisters 3, had to cancel and reschedule due to illness…later that night, Eric Taylor and his posse filled the studio, so I spent some quality time in the music library (since there was barely any room left in the small on-air studio)…

As I was heading for XPN, I noticed a new advertisement in 30th Street Station, which was more eye-catching than most of the other ads there…

Day 208 – March 9th, 2008

Don't tread on me

..that does it, I think the whole advertising thing has gone too far!…

I made an appointment to get my hair cut (and possibly colored) on Thursday…

Messed up my Y-Rock show this morning…cwapz…

News in Brief coming soon…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
While you just stayed in your room
I saw the crescent
You saw the whole of the moon
The whole of the moon

~ by E. on March 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
