Phase Two: Darklands, in which Bobby Gillespie is replaced by a drum machine

I have several strange fascinations, in case you hadn’t noticed…yeah, there’s the Disney thing, and the whole need to know every bit of music ever recorded, but there are other unusual things that either intrigue me or frustrate me…for example, you know those commercials with the testimonials from people and the things is edited so that the people finish each other’s sentences, sometimes even repeating the same word?…for example, there is a commercial for a drug to help you quit smoking, and a montage of people are edited together to say “I knew it was my time/my time/my time to quit”…that drives me nuts…just the same, there are many commercials that I like a whole bunch…I think the whole “Head On” promotion was brilliant, since it did exactly what an ad is supposed to do: make you remember the product…but even if some products fade into infomercial obscurity, often the person selling the product is remembered better than the product itself…hence my fascination with Billy Mays…and apparently, I am not alone in my fascination with the Ron Popeil of my generation…

Day 224 – March 25th, 2008 Kaboom!

The Billy Mays mask is from the obscenely talented Vonster…you can get your own “Billy Mays Power Mask Set” here

On Wednesday, a few people were out sick from the Help Desk…since I had nothing to do until my evening class, I stayed until around 5:30 (I am usually only there until 1:00 on Wednesdays)…I helped a few people here and there, but more importantly, I pushed in chairs and even closed the blinds!…

What I love about this time of year is that, even when I left the Help Desk at 5:30, it was still light outside…of course, Philadelphia and its surrounding suburbs have been under a pretty constant overcast for the past week or so, but the weather outside is hardly frightful…I also like how the pretty photogenic things of nature start to bloom…of course, with the flowers and all, the trees start to get a little rowdy…dig these trees that were clearly in a No Trees Zone right by the Learning Center…

Day 225 – March 26th, 2008 Guess what? I've spoken to Norm/We're gonna live in the trees

This afternoon when I got home, I “cooked” some Eggo Muffin Tops (which is a great idea for foodstuffs) and watched the Modern Marvels special about Walt Disney World (see obsession #1)…I happened to be flipping through the channels when I came across a way early episode of “Ren & Stimpy”…it was the one with the “Happy Happy Joy Joy” song, and an installment of Commander Hoek and Cadet Stimpy, among other things…a few times, though, I noticed that some frames had been digitally zoomed so as to cut off certain things in the frame…of course, it’s been almost 20 years since I watched “Ren & Stimpy” when it was first on, so I don’t remember what may have been edited out of the shots…just the fact that John Krisfaluci (and others) could get away with so much back in 1991 is so cool, and I’m proud to have grown up with cartoons that used words like “crap” and “Chokey Chicken”…man, those were the days…then, during dinner, Mom discovered Pea Beard…

Day 226 – March 27th, 2008 I got a beard that would disappear If I'm dressed in leather

Clearly, that’s Pea Devendra, but that’s another story…

Tomorrow’s Free at Noon Concert with The Raveonettes has a few spaces left, and you can RSVP for it here…tomorrow night’s eels show, on the other hand, is quite sold out…

Tune in for my Y-Rock shift tomorrow from 11:00am – 3:00pm (eastern) for a chance to win tickets to The Roots‘ Picnic, and Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks!…also for music and me saying silly things into a microphone…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
I might take a boat
I’ll take a plane
I might hitch-hike or jump a railroad-train
Your kind of love drive a man insane
So look for me walkin’ just any old way
Have love, will travel

~ by E. on March 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
