Holy Chip

O, the things you find around the Ambler campus…almost makes me not want to leave…well, not really…I was walking back from the Help Desk on Wednesday and I happen to spot the remnants of an ice cream cone sitting in the middle of the walkway…

Day 239 – April 9th, 2008 Citizen Cone

I’m pretty sure that that picture’s title is “Cone Alone”, based on the reactions of other people I showed it to, but I prefer “Citizen Cone”…some people…

On Thursday, my History teacher was in a very funny mood…we had just finished reading a painfully boring book, and were trying to point out its merits…it was a kick to hear everyone in the class chiming in about how much they didn’t like this book…

Aside from that, I saw Hot Chip at the Starlight Ballroom…I had some pretty high expectations, since their new album, Made In The Dark, is already one of my favorites of 2008…everything I could have wanted from the British quintet was delivered over about an hour and a half of non-stop dance frenzy…many bands have a tough time translating the energy of their live performances to record, but Hot Chip make great records and put on tremendous shows as well…all the best songs from The Warning, like “Over & Over” “And I Was A Boy From School” and “No Fit State” were meshed with new songs such as “Shake A Fist”, “Wrestlers” and “Ready For The Floor”…being in the front row, I got shoved around a lot, but I didn’t mind it as much as I would a mosh pit, since everyone was just trying to dance…I also got a bunch of great pictures, which I will have to put into an album along with other concert photos…seeing as how I’m turning into a little shutterbug, I think it’ll be good for people to see how ridiculously close I get to the stage when I go to shows, and maybe that’ll explain why I can’t hear as well as I used to…

Oh, right, here’s a Hot Chip picture…

Day 240 – April 10th, 2008 Bend away

Today was an okay day at XPN…the Free at Noon concert was in Lancaster, so the building was mostly devoid of staff…on top of that, my Y-Rock shift was moved to 3:00-7:00, a slot I’m not so fond of…I realize that it is my old shift, but I’ve gotten so used to, you know, actually having listeners during my show…I’m not sure what was going on today, but I barely got any e-mails or IM’s…it was mighty depressing…on the flipside, however, I got to play a new song from The Jesus And Mary Chain

Day 141 – April 11th, 2008 I want to die like Jesus Christ

No, it’s not George Harrison‘s “All Things Must Pass” (though that would be pretty cool)…in fact, it’s on the soundtrack to the TV show “Heroes”, and you can have the mp3 on me:

[mp3] The Jesus And Mary Chain – “All Things Must Pass”

This weekend has little in store, but here’s a concert calendar to keep you up to date (though the endless stream of shows has pretty much, well, ended)

Concert Rundown
4/14 – Jason Collett @ World Cafe Live
4/25 – The B-52’s @ Electric Factory
5/2 – Was (Not Was) with Todd Snider @ World Cafe Live
5/15 – Jim White @ World Cafe Live
6/7 – Appel Farm Arts & Music Festival with Suzanne Vega, They Might Be Giants, Marc Cohn, The Smithereens and more…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Seen you before, I know your sort,
You think the world awaits your every breath
You’ll be my friend, or so you say
You’ll help me out when the time comes

~ by E. on April 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
