O!

I love silly signs…there’s a sign near the Cheltenham Police building that says ‘Aggressive Driving Enforcement’, which says to me that they will pull you over if you’re not driving aggressively…other times, it might be a silly diagram used to accompany the words…mostly, though, I like signs that say things in an odd way…a way that you definitely know what the sign is trying to say, but there are some extra words in there that muck it up a little bit…there’s a perfect example of this in the Learning Center’s computer lab…

Day 246 – April 16th, 2008 Temple Smash!!

If they just would have had ‘is’ between ‘Temple’ and ‘not responsible’, this sign’s message would have sounded less, well, Cro-Magnon…

Another thing I like is graffiti…well, not all graffiti, but a lot of it is very artistic and often very silly…and if there’s one thing I am a sucker for, it’s silliness…seems like Temple is a big target for silliness, given their reputation awkwardly-worded signs, so it comes as no surprise that the bus on Thursday bore this:

Day 247 – April 17th, 2008 Melp!!

It said the same on the other side of the bus, though I’m not quite sure who would need help standing behind a bus…maybe they were trying to run after the bus and needed help catching it?…maybe the bus itself put out this alert for its own well-being?…we may never know…

Friday’s Free at Noon concert featured cheeky Brit Kate Nash, though you might have mistaken it for a meeting of every Interscope Records employee…from what I’ve come to understand, one of the people there was Steve Lillywhite, who is a very prolific record producer, and is the widower of the late Kirsty MacColl…I re-played Kate‘s Free at Noon on Y-Rock later that afternoon, but I was frankly unimpressed…personally, I prefer Lily Allen (or better yet, Regina Spektor)…I’m not quite sure how many sassy female singers with thick British accents this world needs, but I think that one is probably enough…oh bother…

Y-Rock was fun as usual…I got to play many oddball tunes (you can check out the playlist in my previous post)…I was presented with a stack of CD’s that I was to take songs from and put them into our computer system…the CD’s were none other than remastered issues of The Jesus And Mary Chain‘s first five albums…of course, I replaced all of my Mary Chain tracks with remastered versions, and I think it’s funny that last Friday’s picture was also Mary Chain-related…

Day 248 – April 18th, 2008

I cannot deceive but I find it hard to speak

I also snagged a pair of free tickets to a concert that was happening the following night…

The first night of Passover was last night…my family always has a Seder the first two nights, and this year was no different…however, this year, Lou Reed was performing at the Electric Factory the night of the first Seder…of course, you see my conundrum as a Velvet Underground-loving Hebrew…turns out, though, that I got some free tickets to the show, and left the Seder a early to go downtown and see “The Man” in concert…he seemed pretty together for 66 (and all the years of, well, let’s just say that most of his songs are autobiographical)…he did a few VU tunes, and a bunch of lively solo stuff (and some not-so-lively solo stuff)…performance artist Laurie Anderson joined the band for a few tunes, and it was adorable to see her and Lou together (while they are not officially married, the two have been “romantically linked” and have performed together since the late ’90s)…

Day 249 – April 19th, 2008 in the wistful morning you throw a coffee cup at my head

Boring solo material aside, I am very happy that I got to see him…he’s one of my favorite performers, for goodness sake!

This evening, I actually stayed for the Seder…as you know by now, Passover isn’t exactly my favorite, but that doesn’t mean that I won’t show you my grandparents’ Seder plate collection…

Day 250 – April 20th, 2008 Why this night is different than all other nights?

Of course, the two plates that aren’t on the wall are on the table…the Seder was okay, but the best part was afterward, when Dad and I looked through a few photo albums with my great-grandmother…looking though photo albums is fantastic enough, but going through them with G.G. makes it even better…and, oh yeah, I’m totally her favorite…

Now I have to write my review of Man Man‘s new album for the Y-Rock newsletter, and then maybe sleep?…who knows!

E.

Lyric of the Time:
And if the building’s burning, move towards that door
But don’t put the flames out
There’s a bit of magic in everything
And then some loss to even things out

~ by E. on April 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
