You’ll dance to anything

The other day I was reading Philadelphia Weekly and came upon one of my favorite columns: The Angry Grammarian…this week’s installment, in particular, touched on something that I personally find positively hilarious…it had a whole segment on poor punctuation in public signage, specifically on unnecessary “quotation marks”…Sunday night, I came across some horrific grammar on a sign in Wawa…

Day 264 – May 4th, 2008 Well, you were the plate last time...

There were two more bins further down the counter, one for “Forks” and one for “Croutons”, my favorite utensils…

It’s funny how we got the Tiki Mckey Mouse the other day, since we also got a Make-Your-Own Paper Pal Mickey Mouse…it was like arts and crafts time (with a professional graphic artist), and the end result is nothing short of adorable…

Day 265 – March 5th, 2008 I fly like paper, get high like planes

You can get your very own Build-A-Mickey here, but be warned: you may need to print out a bunch in case you mess up the first few…

Speaking of art, Dad and I went to the Senior Showcase at Hussian School of Art, where Dad went to art school…we’ve been going there each year for the past few years, though the school occupies a different building now than it did when Dad went there…we found out that, in August, they are going to be moving again to a wonderful spot in the Bourse building…the seniors’ work was good, but it’s weird how much reliance there is on programs like PhotoShop in all of their pieces…I realize that the art world is changing, but a lot of the stuff I saw can be done by anyone with PhotoShop know-how without necessarily being artistic…unfortunately, that might be the future of art as we know it…oh bother…

Day 266 – May 6th, 2008 You can't see it 'til it's finished

It’s weird that I spent my last night at Ambler on Tuesday night…then again, I am very happy that the school year is just about over and that I can move back into my own home in due time…I’d had quite enough of Ambler, and fortunately, my last night there was not too bad…will I miss it?…probably not…

Wednesday, I came home from my dorm with all of my clothes, had a nice relaxing day and went to Target to pick up my copy of “I’m Not There” on DVD…

Day 267 – March 7th, 2008 When I'm there, she's alright/But she's not when I'm gone

I’ll probably get a chance to watch it this weekend, maybe as a double feature with “The Sting”…

I met up with Erin Wednesday afternoon, and we went to The Little Dipper and walked around Ogontz Field because it was so lovely out…

Last night, I went to a concert that Erin helped put together…I didn’t really like any of the bands there, but I figured as much when I decided to go…I went to support my friend and her concert-promoting endeavors (and because I’m a good sport)…I’m not sure when musicians became weird for the sake of being weird, but the bands that I “saw” last night (since I wasn’t really paying much attention to them) were clearly going out o their way to make as much noise as possible, which was not suited by the small room that served as the night’s host…oh well…at least there was a funny sign there…

Day 268 – May 8th, 2008 Don't be a fool

Today’s Y-Rock show was pretty fun, though my head still kinda hurt from the night before…despite that, I played a not of neat stuff and got a bunch of albums to take me through the weekend…I might end up writing a few reviews especially for my blog, since there are many albums that I have mixed feelings about that I would love to review (and the Y-Rock eNewsletter reviews are all (mostly) positive, since we don’t feature albums we don’t like)…

As I was leaving XPN, Betsy (the volunteer coordinator) presented me with a gift bag for the end of the school year…she said that she made them up for all of the student workers, and it was such a nice surprise…

Day 269 – May 9th, 2008 Three cheers for the local band!

Even though I have most of those things, I did not get my own copy of the new Philly Local sampler until now…you can get your own copy by making a contribution to XPN (hint hint)…

Tomorrow, Dad and I are going to move the rest of my stuff out of my dorm, and then find an RA to officially check me out, because I think my RA has combusticated…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Seymour Stein- I’ve been lonely
I caught a glimpse of someones face
It was mine and I’d been crying

~ by E. on May 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
