Goin’

I always think it’s funny when I meet a musician who writes incredibly strange songs and they turn out to be the most normal, down to earth person…Tim DeLaughter of The Polyphonic Spree and Stan Ridgway are both prime examples of this (Ridgway a little less so, since he is a pretty interesting character)…I met yet another totally normal writer of outlandish songs on Wednesday night…for someone who wrote a concept album about six-legged robotic horses who think they’re real horses, Chris Eaton of Toronto’s Rock Plaza Central is really a just a regular guy…the band’s performance at World Cafe Live on Wednesday was very enjoyable, and featured many songs from their recent release, Are We Not Horses?…the five-piece version of the band played all sorts of instruments, like banjo, mandolin, glockenspiel, and the drummer used various blunt objects for sticks…

Day 274 – May 14th, 2008

I want to be a shining example 

I got a shirt, poster and CD from the band after their set…evidently, they switch headlining from night to night with the band that they are on tour with (Plants And Animals, to be precise), and when I saw them, they were the “opener”…lucky for me, since Plants And Animals weren’t too good, and were way too loud for the venue, so Dad and I head home nice and early…

On Thursday, technically the first day without a school-related activity, I caught up on the sleep that I had lost over the past few days…when Mom came home from her errands, she brought into the house a pram that she found on the sidewalk as she was driving around…

Day 275 – May 15th, 2008

I have to push the pram a lot 

Speaking of Mom, Friday was her birthday…since it was Friday, I went to XPN to do my Y-Rock shift, during which I dedicated a set of music to her (the Mike Doughty/B-52’s/Beck/Man Man set in the 1:00pm hour)…the Free at Noon concert was with two relatively unknown dance bands, Black Kids and Does It Offend You, Yeah?…while the performances were probably very good, I think it was a tad too early for the crowd to be bombarded with such thumping electro…it also wasn’t really the best kind of day, since it was terribly muggy and overcasty outside…so much so, that the buildings of the Philadelphia skyline were completely covered in a haze by the time I left…

Day 276 – May 16th, 2008

If you're holding out you can wash in the rain 

We went to my grandparents’ house for Mom’s birthday-style dinner, and I played “I’m Sticking With You” on my little cousin’s toy guitar (which can only hold a tune for about 20 seconds)…it was kinda cute, but I’d rather have a real guitar, thanks…

The Spring Fund Drive in underway at XPN, which means that I helped run the board in the studio while the on-air types pitched from the conference room upstairs…Like past fund drives, I ran the board for Sleepy Hollow yesterday morning…for the first time, though, I played a song off of a record…the host, Chuck Elliot, got the song all cued up, making it as easy as playing a song from a CD…it was just such an underwhelming experience, though (since I anticipated it requiring more attention), that I took a picture of it…

Day 277 – May 17th, 2008

Sometimes it rocks, sometimes it swings

I did the board again this morning for the Sunday edition of Sleepy Hollow, and tonight there’s even more board-opping for The Folk Show…

Of course, tomorrow I start back at XPN on a more regular basis…Tune in to hear me on Y-Rock tomorrow morning at 9:00am (eastern)!

E.

Lyric of the Time:
And it’s solid as a rock rolling down a hill
The fact is that it probably will hit something
On the hazardous terrain

~ by E. on May 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
