Yonder Can

On Wednesday, I went into XPN with little work that I planned to do…Not that I didn’t want to do any work, I was hoping that something would be found for me to do, since all I had otherwise was to edit my MGMT interview (which I did finally get done)…luckily (?), there were mysteriously no World Cafe production interns in that day, so I was asked to gather the music for an episode of the World Cafe, something I had never done before…even though this wasn’t something I did when I worked on the World Cafe, it was a pretty straightforward task, and hopefully this shows that I can pick up new responsibilities quickly…

While I was gathering music, Kathy O’Connell came over to me with a plastic shopping bag and said, “You’ll appreciate this.”…she pulls out two sealed plastic zipper-bags, one containing White Fang (“The Biggest and Meanest Dog in the USA”), and the other containing Black Tooth (“The Biggest and Sweetest Dog in the USA”)…y’see, Kathy is pretty much Soupy Sales‘ best friend, and at the end of her most recent visit with the children’s television hero and doer of “The Mouse”, she was presented with the two most iconic puppets of Sales’ career…naturally, when my parents found out about this (by my telling them), they just had to come down to the station and see them in person…

Day 281 – May 21st, 2008 LLAUAGH A-LLUAGH!!

Of course, as with just about all of my pictures, “that guy” is prominently featured…maybe I’ll make some kind of montage, as if “that guy” really needs to draw any more attention to himself…oh bother…

Didn’t quite do much of anything on Thursday…I helped Mom string some new lights on the front porch, but I mainly watched episodes of “Wonderfalls”, a show which I recently got the full series (as in, the entire series) on DVD…cancelled after only four episodes (which were shown out-of-sequence back in 2004), the show follows Jaye Tyler, who works in a gift shop in Niagara Falls where novelty toys and trinkets talk to her…it’s sorta like “Quantum Leap”, only with less “Oh boy”s and more theme songs by Andy Partridge

Day 282 – May 22nd, 2008

Speaking of the theme song, you can have it on me:

[mp3] Andy Partridge – I Wonder Why The Wonder Falls

Friday was a rather short day at XPN, since I had my Y-Rock shift for most of the day and left early for the “holiday” weekend…I played a lot of the new songs that we added on Monday, and I’ll post the playlist shortly…it was positively packed on the train heading home, which makes for even better people-watching…

When I got back home, Mom had gotten some cupcakes…unfortunately, one of them was askew…

Day 283 – May 23rd, 2008 Here on earth I'll have my cake

Yesterday was interesting…Mom, Dad and I went to the home of Pat Dinizio, leader of Jersey’s The Smithereens…he has a Memorial Day weekend barbecue every year and sells tickets to the food and performances (both of which were in abundance)…it was kinda weird, but the performances (and the experience as a whole) was rather worth it…Of course, we’ll be seeing Pat and the rest of The Smithereens at Appel Farm next week, but seeing him in the setting of his backyard was just another weird travel to add to my collection…

Day 284 – May 24th, 2008 You left in a hurry with a guy from the band

And yes, he pretty much always wears those biking hats…

Today we went to a more normal-type barbecue (though compared to yesterday, a barbecue on the moon would have been more normal)…it was at my aunt and uncle’s place, where I totally had a slice of grilled pineapple on my veggie burger…afterward, Mom, Dad and I went to see “Iron Man”, which was pretty good…we were still so full of various things that we didn’t even need to go to the snack bar (as if there were any animated foodstuffs to tell us to do so)…

Day 285 – May 25th, 2008 Let's all go to the snack bar!

“Muddy Bears”?…seriously?

I think I may be going down the shore tomorrow, where I think I’ll play some video games and wear some Def Leppard t-shirts…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
Nothing but the local DJ
Who said he had some songs to play
What went down from this fooling around
Gave hope and a brand new day

~ by E. on May 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
