Such craftsmanship!

The weather here has been rather goofy…it was NASA-hot just last week, and it’s been raining off and on all of this week…on Tuesday, it was especially lousy out, as it poured (with thunder and lightning, no less) all night…while our power didn’t exactly go out, the cable was intermittent, which meant that our internet kept going out…what better time to enjoy a healthy snack while still listening to my radio (which was mysteriously staying on despite the flickering power)?…

Day 301 – June 10th, 2008 mmmm...health..

Evidently, things weren’t so calm in the surrounding area, as there were trees and power lines down for the next few days…boy oh boy…

I stayed home from XPN on Wednesday to further treat my sunburn (awww!)…I had been using a few different products, but Mom turned me on to what might be the greatest skin care product ever: Cocoa Butter…I’m not sure if it actually does anything for your skin, but it totally makes you smell like Hershey, PA…

Day 302 – June 11th, 2008 The Great American Jar of Butter

In a nutshell, it’s pure genius…I highly recommend you get a case, if only to totally smell like chocolate everyday…

Mom set out on her long b/w strange trip to Florida on Thursday…she’s called several times since she left from various places along the way (and she called from the World Of Disney store in Downtown Disney last night!)…without her around, Dad and I decided that we wouldn’t even attempt to do any cooking…sure enough, the first night she was away, we got pizza…

Day 303 – June 12th, 2008 You got yr 30 minutes

In actuality, you might not get your pizza in 30 minutes (as they are legally obligated to tell you), since their delivery guys exhibit safe driving…it seems like they’re going to a lot of trouble to market their ’30 minutes’ thing only to tell you that it might take longer…as long as they’re not making promises on 30 minutes, why not say “You Got 10 Minutes”?…

On Friday after my Y-Rock shift (the playlist for which I will post momentarily), I came upstairs, where Josh (operations coordinator and fellow DJ) asked me to sit by his desk in case the phone call he is expecting comes…I asked who it’s from, and he said it’ll be Hal Sparks…the comedian and 70s/80s/90s lover would be stopping by to do a radio takeover…he had been in town performing at the Helium comedy club (where I saw Thomas F. Wilson) all week, and another DJ saw him the night before and invited him to stop by…the funny part is that Dad and I were already planning on seeing him that night…Hal was running a little late, but I got to meet him just before I left for the day…I told him that I would see him later that night, and sure enough, after his routine, he recognized me when we went to meet him…his performance was really good, and I always get a kick out of seeing someone in person that I see on TV all the time…I told him that I just saw him talking about “I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight”, and he told me that “I Love The New Millennium” is starting in a few weeks…I said, “But this decade isn’t exactly, um, over yet”, to which he said “Well, it’s ‘I Love The New Millennium, So Far'”…the way he said it, I could tell that even he thinks that VH1 is pushing it a little bit, but I’m sure he enjoys doing those specials plenty…

Day 304 – June 13th, 2008 Dj Video

…and yeah, he’s pretty short and sweaty in person…

We went to the record store that’s right next to Helium, Long In The Tooth Records…I got CDs by Link Wray and Perrey & Kingsley, as well as a double-10″ version of The The‘s Hanky Panky, the all-Hank Williams covers album…

Yesterday, Dad and I went to a barbecue with some of the other people in his department at work…this was the first time I had met most of them, though many of them listen to me on Y-Rock each week…they were a very neat bunch of cats, which I saw early on when a few of them started playing with the backyard toys that were intended for the younger kids…

Day 305 – June 14th, 2008 Oh! In the pond!!

It was a lot of fun, and a lot of it was also extreme…

Today is the Fathers’ Day!…I got Dad some Disney things (some of which were already his), and a “Leave It To Beaver” card that plays the theme song when you open it…every day is Fathers’ Day!

Folk Show tonight, more Y-Rock tomorrow, and Puppini Sisters show tomorrow night!…it’s genre-rific!

E.

Lyric of the Time:
With snow in tow, the winter winds
Smacks you on your cheeks again
Oh, it stings, oh, it stings

~ by E. on June 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
