Y-Rock On XPN playlists for 7.28.08 and 8.1.08!!

artist – title – album

9 am 

Cold War Kids – Something Is Not Right With Me – Loyalty To Loyalty 

Spoon – You Got Yr Cherry Bomb – (Y-Rock Session) 

MGMT – Weekend Wars – Oracular Spectacular 

Buzzcocks – Operators Manual – Love Bites 

Blur – Girls And Boys – Parklife 

Delta Spirit – Trashcan – Ode To Sunshine 

The Charlatans – The Misbegotten – You Cross My Path 

New Order – Blue Monday – Power, Corruption & Lies

Justice – DVNO –

Cut Copy – Lights And Music – In Ghost Colours 

Pavement – Gold Soundz – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain 

Santogold – L.e.s. Artistes – Santogold 

Los Campesinos! – Death To Los Campesinos! – Hold On Now, Youngster… 

Violent Femmes – Crazy

Gnarls Barkley – Smiley Faces – St. Elsewhere 


10 am 

Bright Eyes – Four Winds – Cassadaga 

Beck – Gamma Ray – Modern Guilt 

The Black Keys – Remember When (Side B) – Attack & Release 

The Raconteurs – Rich Kid Blues – Consolers Of The Lonely 

Washington Social Club – Bigger Than Your Boyfriend – Bigger Than Your Boyfriend 

The Redwalls – They Are Among Us – The Redwalls 

The Zutons – Always Right Behind You – You Can Do Anything 

The Cure – Hot Hot Hot!!! – Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me 

The Ting Tings – Shut Up And Let Me Go – We Started Nothing 

Blondie – Rapture – Autoamerican 

The Jesus And Mary Chain – All Things Must Pass – Heroes Original Soundtrack 

They Might Be Giants – One More Parade – Rubaiyat: Elektra’s 40th Anniversary 

Billy Bragg & Wilco – California Stars – Mermaid Avenue 

Dr. Dog – My Friend – Fate 

Phantom Planet – Dropped – Raise The Dead 

The Smiths – Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want – Hatful Of Hollow 


11 am 

Black Kids – I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You – Partie Traumatic 

Television Personalities – Part Time Punks – Where’s Bill Grundy Now? 

Elvis Costello & The Imposters – American Gangster Time – Momofuku 

Vampire Weekend – A-Punk – Vampire Weekend 

The Shins – Turn On Me – Wincing The Night Away 

The Dandy Warhols – The World The People Together (Come On) – …Earth To The Dandy Warhols… 

Wolf Parade – The Grey Estates – At Mount Zoomer 

Sunset Rubdown – The Mending Of The Gown – Random Spirit Lover 

The Pipettes – Your Kisses Are Wasted On Me – We Are The Pipettes 

Primal Scream – Can’t Go Back – Beautiful Future 

Mates Of State – The Re-Arranger – Re-Arrange Us 

Peter Bjorn And John – Amsterdam – Writer’s Block 

Destroyer – Dark Leaves Form A Thread – Trouble In Dreams 

Sam Roberts – Them Kids – Love At The End Of The World 

Talking Heads – I Zimbra – Fear Of Music 



(songs maked with a * are not sung by that band’s lead singer…instead, the singer is noted along with the song)

11 am 

Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal – Fleet Foxes 

*Oasis – The Importance Of Being Idle – Don’t Believe The Truth (guitarist Noel Gallagher)

James – Waterfall – Hey Ma 

*Belle And Sebastian – Jonathan David – Push Barman To Open Old Wounds (guitarist Stevie Jackson)

The Ramones – Do You Remember Rock N’ Roll Radio? – End Of The Century 

Conor Oberst – I Don’t Want To Die (In The Hospital) – Conor Oberst 

Brazilian Girls – Good Time – New York City 

Air – Sexy Boy – Moon Safari 

Beck – Chemtrails – Modern Guilt 

*XTC – Ten Feet Tall – Drums & Wires (bassist Colin Moulding)

The Black Keys – Remember When (Side B) – Attack & Release 

Luna – Tiger Lily – Bewitched 

Brendan Canning – Hit The Wall – Something For All Of Us… 

mrandmrsmays – Milestone – mrandmrsmays 

White Rabbits – Kid On My Shoulders – Fort Nightly 


12 pm: The Nooner

*R.E.M. – Texarkana – Out Of Time (bassist Mike Mills)

*The Clash – Ivan Meets G.I. Joe – Sandinista! (drummer Topper Headon)

*Nirvana – Marigold – Heart-Shaped Box (drummer Dave Grohl)

David Bowie – Golden Years – Station To Station 

The B-52’s – Party Out Of Bounds – Wild Planet 

*Pixies – La La Love You – Doolittle (drummer David Lovering)

Ben Folds Five – Jackson Cannery – Ben Folds Five 

Heaven 17 – Let Me Go – The Luxury Gap 

*U2 – Numb – Zooropa (guitarist The Edge)

*Squeeze – Love Circles – Frank. (guitarist/lyricist Chris Difford)

Soul Asylum – Runaway Train – Grave Dancers Union 

*The Velvet Underground – After Hours – The Velvet Underground (drummer Moe Tucker)

*New Order – Dreams Never End – Movement (bassist Peter Hook)

*Big Bad Voodoo Daddy – 13 Women – Big Bad Voodoo Daddy (bassist Dirk Shumaker)

The Buzzcocks – What Do I Get? – Another Music In A Different Kitchen


1 pm 

MGMT – Electric Feel – Oracular Spectacular 

*Crash Test Dummies – The Ballad Of Peter Pumpkinhead (keyboardist Ellen Reid)

Black Kids – Look At Me (When I Rock Wichoo) – Partie Traumatic 

The Last Shadow Puppets – The Age Of The Understatement – The Age Of The Understatement 

Jane’s Addiction – Ripple – Deadicated 

*The White Stripes – In The Cold, Cold Night – Elephant (drummer Meg White)

The Zutons – Always Right Behind You – You Can Do Anything 

*Pavement – Hit The Plane Down – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain (guitarist Scott “Spiral Stairs” Kannberg)

The Ting Tings – Shut Up And Let Me Go – We Started Nothing 

*Foo Fighters – Cold Day In The Sun – In Your Honor (drummer Taylor Hawkins)

Fujiya & Miyagi – Dishwasher – Lightbulbs 

eels – Mr. E’s Beautiful Blues – Daisies Of The Galaxy 

*The Jam – News Of The World – The Modern World (bassist Bruce Foxton)

Cold War Kids – Something Is Not Right With Me – Loyalty To Loyalty 

*They Might Be Giants – Where Do They Make Balloons? – No! (bassist Danny Weinkauf)

Talking Heads – Girlfriend Is Better – Speaking In Tongues 


2 pm 

*Sonic Youth – Wish Fulfillment – Dirty (guitarist Lee Ranaldo)

Cut Copy – Lights And Music – In Ghost Colours 

Vampire Weekend – M79 – Vampire Weekend 

*Wilco – It’s Just That Simple – A.M. (bassist John Stirratt)

Arcade Fire – Intervention – Neon Bible 

Dr. Dog – The Girl – We All Belong 

The Fratellis – Tell Me A Lie – Here We Stand 

Massive Attack – Safe From Harm – Blue Lines 

*Devo – Secret Agent Man – Duty Now For The Future (guitarist Bob Mothersbaugh)

*The Cure – Foxy Lady – Three Imaginary Boys (bassist Michael Dempsey)

Primal Scream – Can’t Go Back – Beautiful Future 

*Old 97’s – W. TX Teardrops – Too Far To Care (bassist Murray Hammond)

Lightspeed Champion – Galaxy Of The Lost – Falling Off The Lavender Bridge 

*The Rainmakers – Nobody Knows – The Rainmakers (guitarist Steve Phillips)

Join me again Monday from 4:00pm – 7:00pm and Friday from 11:00am – 3:00pm (eastern, of course), only on Y-Rock On XPN!!


~ by E. on August 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: