I’m on good terms with technology…heck, you remember my stint at the Help Desk at Temple Ambler’s computer lab (where I did more blogging than anything else, really)…not that I rush out to get new gadgets as soon as the come out, but once I get something new I generally figure it out pretty easily…perhaps I was just so accustomed to my old cell phone, but I’m having difficulty getting used to the new phone I got on Tuesday…

Day 357 – August 5th, 2008 I'm in the phone booth, it's the one across the hall

Dad has the same phone, but I haven’t used his enough to find everything…now that I have my own, I’m slowly figuring out how to do things…it’s not totally my fault, though, since AT&T recently upgraded their whole system and many of the companies that make the phones have discontinued many of their non-compatible models…

I also got my hair cut and colored on Tuesday, and I’m happy to say that I’m not having any trouble with that

On Wednesday I was the only Y-Rocker in the building the whole day, and I got a good amount of work done (including ripping remastered tracks from reissues of My Aim Is True and This Year’s Model…at least I like love those two albums)…

Speaking of music I recently re-ripped into XPN’s system, I got a spam comment on my last full post that mentioned a certain Northern Irish singer best known for his unintelligible singing style (that I can’t stand) and writing a song that Patti Smith made much better years later…the comment thanked me for plugging the recent reissues of his albums and helping to spread the word to my readers…are these spammers trained to just skim through blog posts looking for key words that interest them?…if so, then they have truly harnessed the habits of the average blog reader, are using them for evil, and must be stopped!…remember, if you get a spammer, do as SB does: DELETE THAT CRAP!!…

On a completely different note, Mom brought back a new kind of one of my favorite cereals from Atlantic City…

Day 358 – August 6th, 2008 dozy doats

As much as I like sugary cereals (“Quazy Energy” ones most of all), I have always been a fan of Oat Squares (as they used to be called)…the maple flavor makes them taste somewhat of pancakes, but mostly just of goodness…if only The Empty Bowl was still around, I’d link to that, but it’s hard out there for a foodstuff review site…

Today, after buying tickets to the now-sold out show with Sonic Youth at the TLA on the 29th (woooo!), I went to Target with Dad to get some last-minute amenities for our trip to California…once we got home, we gathered up our clothes and packed up the luggage, which is in the whole much lighter than past years since we don’t have to bring any special clothes/goodies for Bats Day (as we’ll be there three months before Bats Day happens)…

Day 359 – August 7th, 2008

I think I got the greenish bag for my Bar Mitzvah…it’s one of the L.L. Bean bags that has my initials embroidered on it (just like everyone I went to camp with had)…as a matter of fact, I think it may still have some theater paint smudges on it from being next to my Blue Man Group ‘signed’ spin art for the trip back from Boston in 2003…

Right now, one of my least favorite episodes of ‘M*A*S*H’ is on (“Dreams” from 1980)…interestingly enough, Alan Alda has cited it as being one of his favorite episodes…

Tomorrow I’m back at XPN, and then coming home to about 20 minutes of sleep before leaving for the airport…

E.

Lyric of the Time:
I’d like to know completely
What others so discreetly
Talk about when they leave me
Not that I notice when they’re gone

~ by E. on August 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
