“Yeah, I pretty much got a random life”

If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s the reckless overuse of certain words…I don’t mean words like “swell” or “so’s your old man,” but words that have completely lost their meaning…the biggest offender is the word “random”…when I learned about randomness in school, it was in Statistics, and was used to find sets of numbers to use in probability equations…people have come to use “random” instead of “unique” or “extraordinary”…with that, I give you “Seven Random Interesting Things About Me”…

1. I can’t see most 3D…I think it has something to do with my poor depth perception (that is, why I wear glasses), but my Light Physics professor recently posed that it might be a result of a mild colorblindness…neat, more impairments!…
2. I don’t drive, by choice…I ran through a few Learner’s Permits, as well as a Driver’s Ed class that took place in a creepy church in Bucks County…when I’m behind the wheel, I see the car I’m driving less as a friendly mode of transportation and more as a two-ton death machine (which, incidentally, is a great band name)…
3. I have been accused of using overly-flowery vocabulary, both in speech and in writing…it’s not as if I’m going out of my way to write or speak the way I do, but I’ve read and written too many creative works to simply ‘talk normal,’ as Laurie Anderson might say…
4. In April of 2006, I swore that I’d never do another survey/meme…guess I’m not too good with keeping promises…
5. If you get me started on music, you’re asking for it…seriously…
6. I have recently gotten copies of the five studio sessions I’ve mixed for Y-Rock…all of them have already aired, but there’s a chance that they’ll be made into podcasts (or even put onto a CD sampler) sometime in the future…
7. I’m planning to abandon LiveJournal in 2009…I’ll likely begin posting to a blog that’s on my own webspace, and no longer will I be tied down to LiveJournal’s increasingly frustrating code…so there.

If you want to do this survey, go ahead…if you don’t, you have better will power than I do, apparently…

E.

~ by E. on November 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

