Halfway

Seeing as how it’s the last day of July, I thought I would join the rest of the music journalism world in recounting my favorite albums of the year so far. Not only did I think about it, I made that neat little cover art quilt you see above. As I was putting it together, though, I got this strange feeling regarding which albums I’ll be considering my favorites for this year.

Last year was an unusual year for music. Most of the bands that put out major albums were bands that I couldn’t have cared less about. Examples include Kings Of Leon, Coldplay, hell, even Beck‘s album didn’t do anything for me. I was feeling super punk rock last year when my top albums list featured few-to-none of the year’s biggest records. This year, though, I fear that my list is going to be a bit more predictable.

As you can see in the image above, many of the albums featured have already been dubbed this year’s finest by the hyperbolic music media. I’m not sure if it’s just that those albums are particularly great, or if I’ve been sucked into liking them because I can’t help but be constantly exposed to them. For some reason, when I think of what my year-end list will contain, the word ‘fascistic’ comes to mind.

It’s not that I am ashamed that I like these records. In fact, I’ve made it a point to not be ashamed of any of the music that I listen to. But I can’t help but feel that my list is going to lack the individuality, the pizazz of last year’s. Then again, for all I know, there will be some great, little-known album that comes out towards the end of the year that blows Bitte Merriwwather-timest out of the indie water.

~ by E. on July 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

