Under Review: Vivian Girls – Everything Goes Wrong

You didn’t hear it from me, but I think that the Vivian Girls are trying to pull a fast one on us.  They made their debut under the assumption that no one remembers the Shop Assistants (true to their theoretical belief, most Americans don’t know what C86 was), and they took the indie world by storm.  That debut album didn’t do a whole lot for me.  I would say that it showed potential, but listening to their new follow-up, Everything Goes Wrong, I should have known that the potential was for more of the same.  Don’t get me wrong, the Girls’ sound is a great one; the fuzzy, harmony-laden tracks capture a lot of energy and spirit.  What irks me is that, listening to them, I feel like I’m the only one who notices that there’s nothing new going on.  Spiky bursts of Sleater-Kinney-ish punk jump out from time to time (“Double Vision,” “Survival”), and a few tracks even sound like my beloved Love Of Diagrams (“Tension,” “I’m Not Asleep”).  Those no wave tendencies are countered with tones of ‘60s girl groups (or at least what modern indie people think girl groups sounded like).  Yes, the cooing backing vocals on “Can’t Get Over You” and the Wall Of Sound drum thud on the aforementioned “Tension” are cute enough, but the Girls really need to settle down with a style now that they’ve decided on a sound.  Like their debut Everything Goes Wrong shows great potential.  I just hope that potential isn’t all the Girls have to offer.

~ by E. on September 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

